General Orders No. 9

I wanted to share with you, my few readers, this movie trailer.

I saw it for the first time just yesterday, have virtually no idea what it is really about, or where it came from.  After reading up about it a bit, it seems like no one else knew it was coming either.  But I wanted to share it because i think it is one of the best movie trailers I have seen, or maybe have ever seen.  It makes me want to see this movie….really bad.  Isn’t that the essence of a great movie trailer?

Here is what Eric Yang of Gear Patrol said on June 1st:

It’s official, the chock-a-blockbuster season has arrived. But, not all brain stimulus is lost. Coming out of nowhere and already sweeping awards for its mesmerizing cinematography, General Orders No.9 is a documentary unlike you’ve ever seen. For 11 years, writer-director Bob Persons has captured the markers of loss and change in the American South and told the story of the clash between man and nature through experimental filmmaking techniques. The result is a narrative told entirely through maps, dreams and prayers using images, music and poetry. Sound totally anti-Michael Bay? It is, but unlike your coffee shop’s open-mic night, Persons has managed to craft an approachable film for the masses that will likely haunt us for years to come.

Mike Ryan from Hammer to Nail said:

I mentioned in an earlier post that one of my favorite films of both festivals was Robert Persons’s General Orders No. 9. Less a documentary than a lyrical poetic meditation on the geographical history of Georgia, this film continues to haunt me weeks after I first saw it.

To see this high quality, click here: http://trailers.apple.com/trailers/independent/generalordersno9/

I can’t get over the narration by William Davidson, each word feels like it drips with meaning and intention.

What remains, after all have gone,
When each generation finds itself in unfamiliar surroundings,
When an end comes to that which gives comfort,
When what is lost by the father, is lost by the son….

I listened to him say this line so many times now, “When what is lost by the father, is lost by the son…”  Gives me chills.

I will also include the full version of the choral piece that accompanies the words and pictures here.  It is John Tavener’s Theotokos.

Leave a Reply

